Chasing common sense…

With 30 on the horizon, one thing still alludes me – common sense! Like the carpenters cup, the top shelf, and an above average metabolism have for a long time been just out of reach. I still find myself chasing an unknown quantity that will settle that knot in my stomach. I’ve tried living in different cities – Belfast, New York, London, Dublin and now Toronto – and for a spell New York seemed like a good fit, leaving when I did, still wanting more. I’ve never given too much thought for marriage but I’d imagine as ”I do’s” are being exchanged that there is some relief, your immediate future is settled, hotel rooms seem cheaper and dessert comes with two spoons. You complete me! The knot becomes untangled. For me common sense was never the key to fit the lock, the door remains closed to enlightenment and the knot still lingers.

Common sense is not God given. Its covered somewhere during the lesson of life, and can be found sitting uncomfortably beside a huge mistake.

Ted Mosby’s mother always said ”Nothing good happens after 2am”. A phrase I believe to be truer every day you get older and something I am ready to adopt. Common sense has arrived, thanks in part to the ”After hours” bar scene in Toronto. As people spill out onto the streets of Toronto at 2am, some are still not ready to go home, leaving only but a collection of shady sheds, basements and dungeons in the Kensington-China Town area to find further alcohol induced fun. As 6am rolls around you have discovered your wallet is lighter, your breathe is flamable and you have marinaded yourself in Axe, the fragrance of lovers, due to the many visits to the bathroom. As you walk home and survery the events of the night, the last 4 hours can only be described as ”throwing good money after bad”.

When 2 A.M. rolls around, just go home…the knot will still be there in the morning.

Banksy – New York

Image


Leave a comment